Bullet Sun I Will Giant You

Barbie Almalbis – 6 May 2011

Barbie Almalbis

Barbie AlmalbisBarbie AlmalbisBarbie AlmalbisBarbie AlmalbisBarbie AlmalbisBarbie Almalbis
Barbie AlmalbisBarbie AlmalbisBarbie AlmalbisBarbie AlmalbisBarbie AlmalbisBarbie Almalbis
Barbie AlmalbisBarbie AlmalbisBarbie Almalbis

Barbie Almalbis – 6 May 2011, a set on Flickr. ©PTMTolibas2011

I was in Trinoma looking for a place to have dinner when I heard her voice and her song. And then her smile when I found the stage.

Nostalgia relentlessly deluged me with her songs. Even the theme from “Tabing Ilog” even gave me chills. Her new material was impressive, and although I hate to use the word “mature” I have to say that it is the most appropriate term to describe her new songs. Hackneyed it might be, maturity is both sensible and logical, and the way she shredded (yes, shredded) her guitar was its most audible revelation, along with the song arrangements that were definitive departures from her pop music flair from years past.

Barbie Almalbis

Most importantly, she smiled at my camera. That smile she flashed at my camera, as my simulacra at that moment, wobbled my knees. Yep, I am part of the audience (and in this case, fan) first, picture-taker second, and I have the right to have my knees become gelatinous at her presence. So enjoy these few pictures from that night as I have. Next time I won’t be as torpe. I promise.

This entry was published on 13 May 2011 at 17:40. It’s filed under Music, Performance and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

