Bullet Sun I Will Giant You

Long Weekends Should Be Spent on the Beach

Rest

Surf day (1)Sky lanterns 1Sky lanterns 2Sky lanterns 3LightflowFireflow 1
Fireflow2FirehoopFireflow 3Fireflow 4Fireflow 5Liwliwa sunset
Lifestylin'RestSurf - 1Beach boy 1Beach boy 2Rozie
Surf day (9)Beach boy 3Beach boy 4Surf day (8)Surf day (7)Surf day (6)

Zambales – January 2012, a set on Flickr.

I don’t usually make New Year’s resolutions, but when the first opportunity to come my way, I immediately grabbed it. And it became one of the most satisfying weekends I ever had.

It was fortunate that January has the first long weekends of the year, so arrangements were easily set for me to go with my friend Solo in one of her beach trips. I told her I want to learn how to surf, and  she was more than happy to let me tag along with her to Liwliwa, San Felipe, Zambales. I have been there before, but this time I was set to have a different experience with the place. And I did.

As it turns out, the whole weekend was well-planned out by the guys in Circle Hostel. The long weekend’s reason was the Chinese New Year, so it should–and it was–a big event: surfing competitions, poi dancers on fire, sky lanterns flying to the sky. A lot of people showed up and it was just enough for the whole thing to be fun without the feeling of the whole place being overcrowded. I arrived there knowing only two people and ended up getting to know more than a dozen more.

It was almost perfect. The weather was cooperative. The waves were generous especially for beginners like me. The people were just happy to be there, and were even happier to meet people like them.

I said “almost” because I had a few shortcomings. So here are some things I learned along the way, as a picture-taker:

  • I need to have more opportunities like these to expand my subject matter;
  • ‘Packing light’ doesn’t mean leaving your flashgun behind; and
  • I should seriously consider buying a nice telephoto lens. I found myself enjoying shooting the contestants in the surfing competition, and new glass would have helped tremendously; and
  • I need to invest on protecting my gear more for trips like these.

As for the rest:

  • I am suddenly conscious that I am not tanned;
  • I need to be more fit if I am going to learn to surf more;
  • That my past few trips to the beach were boring and that I may never enjoy another beach trip without me trying to get better to surf.

So there. I’m looking forward to another beach trip, hopefully making this a monthly thing. As for now, I have these pictures as motivation and inspiration.

P.S. : I started using watermarks this year. It’s another resolution of mine. At first I felt like a deluded wannabe putting them, but then I realized I may have to start getting my work out there, outside this blog, and my personal accounts in Facebook and Tumblr. Let’s see what this year has in store.

This entry was published on 06 February 2012 at 01:00. It’s filed under Events, Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

