Bullet Sun I Will Giant You

Whatever happened to December?

A lot of things.

I spent the last two months slaving at work because there were bigger and more important fish to fry. Although most of it were spent waiting and scoffing and eye-rolling and righteous indignationing, it was one of the highlights of my stay in the office. What an ordeal it was, what a triumph it was.

Luckily, I got two great opportunities to cap off 2012:

Rock LoQal – 15 December 2012, Mall of Asia Arena 

One of the allures of shooting photos of musical performances is having some beloved performers as your subject while they are playing. Rock LoQal promised to be the ultimate collection of great local rock acts for the year, and it delivered more than I expected. I came in an hour late for the show that started around 5:00 p.m. and wasn’t done when I left around 1:00 a.m. That marathon of a gig produced a photoset that I can look at and say, “This will be enough for the year”, if only I said it on a June day. I had the chance to catch these guys:

Bea Lao (of General Luna)

General Luna

Bad Burn

Bad Burn

Taken by Cars

Taken by Cars

Mayonnaise

Mayonnaise

Salamin

Salamin

Chicosci

Francis Reyes (of Peso Movement)

Peso Movement

Ely Buendia (of Pupil)

Pupil

Nathan Azarcon (of Hijo)

Hijo

Ria Bautista (of Paramita)

Paramita

Typecast

Typecast

Jamir Garcia (of Slapshock)

Slapshock

Kat Agarrado (of Sinosikat?)

Sinosikat?

Marc Abaya (of Kjwan)

Kjwan

What really did me in though was the instant nostalgia from these performers when they went onstage:

Barbie Almalbis

Barbie Almalbis

Indio I

Indio I

Razorback

Razorback

Chikoy Pura (of The Jerks)

The Jerks

Mike Hanopol

Mike Hanopol

Wally Gonzales

Wally Gonzales

The Youth

The Youth

Cookie Chua (of Color It Red)

Color It Red

So now this post betrays the fact that I’m a 90’s kid, and that wasn’t the reason I left at 1:00 a.m. it’s just because I realized I’ve been in the place for six hours already. I left just as a Karl Roy tribute band was playing right after a video presentation for the fallen rakista. I left with a heady trip of high school and college memories, but was tired from so far the longest shoot I ever had. HERE’S THE REST OF THE PHOTOSET. Again, I thank Glenn of PhilippineConcerts.com for the opportunity, and this one has been the best assignment I got from him so far.

Mouse on the Keys live in Manila – 21 December 2012, B-Side, The Collective, Makati City

It was supposed to be the end of the world, but if it was, Mouse on the Keys made that day worth living. Brought to Manila by the same guy who brought Toe to these shores–Chi Brotonel of Intastellaburst HK–MOTK performed bravely against Mayan prophesy, flying in from their homeland Japan. They had a unique set-up: Two keyboardists, one drummer, and one occasional saxophonist. It was a unique formula for a unique band, with a sound that could be described with an adjective that sounds like “Monique”.

MOTK-wm-23
Mouse on the Keys
Mouse on the Keys
Mouse on the Keys

Like what I said about Toe’s set up, I love the way the band is surrounded by the audience. But unlike the Toe concert, it proved a bit difficult for me to move around since the venue was smaller and more intimate. I think I was the only one moving in B-Side during the the whole performance. People were glued where they were just listening to MOTK, marveling how the minimalistic lighting mingled with the performers’ intensity. That made me feel a bit guilty for my deliberate jostling attempts for a better shooting position, but I had to do what I had to. Still, I strived to maintain a balance between getting a good shot and enjoying the musical performance of a visiting band–something that I may never experience again. It was difficult and fun, and it was the best kind of difficult. HERE ARE  THE REST OF THE PHOTOS AND SEE HOW I DID.

tide/edit

tide/edit

Tarsius

Tarsius

You’ll see from the photoset that there were superb frontacts for the MOTK gig. It was my first time watching tide/edit and Tarsius, and  they helped build momentum and anticipation for MOTK, and they also warmed me up for the main event. Heck, I want to watch them again some time and snap at them more. Thanks again to Chi for this marvelous opportunity! And even if it is late, here’s to a new year!

*Photos posted with permission from Intastella Burst HK

This entry was published on 29 January 2013 at 21:19. It’s filed under Events, Music, Performance and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

